2020 AIR Awards Nominees

The nominees for the 2020 AIR Awards are in.
Our eclectic team of writers from around Australia – and a couple beyond – with decades of combined experience and interest in all fields.

The nominees for the 2020 Air Awards have landed and the ladies have taken centre stage, with Tones And I, Julia Jacklin, Stella Donnelly and Sampa The Great each receiving three nominations.

Once again to be staged in the UNESCO City of Music, Adelaide, this October, the AIR Awards recognise, promote and celebrate the success of Australia's independent music sector.

"We look forward to making Adelaide our home for the AIR Awards and our Indie-Con Australia Conference over the next three years and are extremely grateful for the continued support from South Australia's Department for Innovation and Skills and the South Australian Tourism Commission," AIR GM Maria Amato says.

With more than 150 individual awards presented to date, AIR Award alumni include Courtney Barnett, Vance Joy, Flume, RÜFÜS DU SOL, Sia, Sheppard, Peking Duk, A.B Original, King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard and Violent Soho.

AIR will also stage the Indie-Con Australia conference in conjunction with the AIR Awards. With a focus on issues relevant to the independent music sector, Indie-Con Australia will be held at Lot Fourteen in Adelaide on 1-2 October.

"The Indie-Con Australia conference provides the music industry both nationally and locally an opportunity to come together to support each other through these challenging times as well as have important conversations about navigating the future," Innovation and Skills Minister David Pisoni says.

Details about speakers and the programme will be announced in the coming months. Stay tuned. If COVID-19 restrictions prevent a face-to-face event from taking place, the conference will be broadcast in digital form.

Click here to read the 2019 AIR Awards winners.

2020 AIR Awards take place at Freemasons Hall (Adelaide) 1 October. If COVID-19 restrictions prevent a face-to-face event from taking place, the Awards will be broadcast in digital form.

2020 AIR Awards Nominees

Independent Album Of The Year

Ainslie Wills - 'All You Have Is All You Need'
Julia Jacklin - 'Crushing'
Sampa The Great - 'The Return'
Stella Donnelly - 'Beware Of The Dogs'
The Teskey Brothers - 'Run Home Slow'

Independent Song Of The Year

Ainslie Wills - 'Fear Of Missing Out'
Dom Dolla - 'San Frandisco'
Julia Jacklin - 'Don't Know How To Keep Loving You'
Sampa The Great - 'Final Form'
Tones And I - 'Dance Monkey'

Breakthrough Independent Artist Of The Year

Angie McMahon
Carla Geneve
Stella Donnelly
Tones And I


Best Independent Hip Hop Album or EP

Allday - 'Starry Night Over The Phone'
Horrorshow - 'New Normal'
Sampa The Great - 'The Return'
Shadow - 'Cream'
Tasman Keith & Stevie Jean - 'Evenings'

Best Independent Soul/R&B Album or EP

Caiti Baker - 'The Dust (Pt. 1)'
Jordan Rakei - 'Origin'
Laneous - 'Monstera Deliciosa'
The Soul Movers - 'Bona Fide'

Tiana Khasi - 'Meghalaya'

Best Independent Country Album or EP

Charlie Collins - 'Snowpine'
Cool Sounds - 'More To Enjoy'
Felicity Urquhart - 'Frozen Rabbit'
Lee Kernaghan - 'Backroad Nation'
Lucky Oceans - 'Purple Sky'

Best Independent Blues And Roots Album or EP

Bobby Alu - 'Flow'
Dyson Stringer Cloher - 'Dyson Stringer Cloher'
Julia Jacklin - 'Crushing'
Paul Kelly - 'Live At The Sydney Opera House'
The Teskey Brothers - 'Run Home Slow'

Best Independent Pop Album or EP

Cub Sport - 'Cub Sport'
G Flip - 'About Us'
Jack River - 'Sugar Mountain (DELUXE)'
Stella Donnelly - 'Beware Of The Dogs'

Tones And I - 'The Kids Are Coming'

Best Independent Rock Album or EP

Angie Mcmahon - 'Salt'
Bad//Dreems - 'Doomsday Ballet'
Jess Ribeiro - 'Love Hate'
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - 'Ghosteen'

Pond - 'Tasmania'

Best Independent Heavy Album or EP

Alpha Wolf - 'Fault'
Northlane - 'Alien'
Ocean Sleeper - 'Don't Leave Me This Way'
Superheist - 'Sidewinder'

Thornhill - 'The Dark Pool'

Best Independent Punk Album or EP

Ausmuteants - '…PRESENT The World In Handcuffs'
Dear Seattle - 'Don't Let Go'
DZ Deathrays - 'Positive Rising: Part 1'
The Gooch Palms - 'III'
Hexdebt - 'Rule Of Four'

Best Independent Dance or Electronica Album or EP

Flume - 'Hi This Is Flume' (mixtape)
Hermitude - 'Pollyanarchy'
Huntly - 'Low Grade Buzz'
The Jungle Giants - 'Heavy Hearted 1,2,3,4 AM Remixes'
Sui Zhen - 'Losing, Linda'

Best Independent Dance, Electronica or Club Single

Confidence Man - 'Does It Make You Feel Good?'
Dom Dolla - 'San Frandisco'
Flume - 'Rushing Back' feat. Vera Blue
Haiku Hands - 'Dare You Not To Dance'

PNAU - 'Solid Gold'

Best Independent Jazz Album or EP

Angela Davis - 'Little Did They Know'
Joe Chindamo - 'Arias'
Kate Ceberano And Paul Grabowsky - 'Tryst'
Mike Nock; Hamish Stuart; Julien Wilson; Jonathan Zwartz - 'This World'
Phil Slater - 'The Dark Pattern'

Best Independent Classical Album or EP

Amy Dickson - 'In Circles'
Joseph Tawadros - 'Betrayal Of A Sacred Sunflower'
Katie Noonan And Australian String Quartet - 'The Glad Tomorrow'

Richard Tognetti & Erin Helyard - 'Beethoven & Mozart Violin Sonatas'
Stuart Skelton, West Australian Symphony Orchestra, Asher Fisch - 'Tristan Und Isolde'

Best Independent Children's Album or EP

Hillsong Kids - 'Songs Of Some Silliness'
Pevan & Sarah - 'Be Kind'
Regurgitator’s Pogogo Show - 'The Really Really Really Really Boring Album'
The Vegetable Plot - 'Season Two'

The Wiggles - 'Party Time!'

Let's Socialise

Facebook pink circle    Instagram pink circle    YouTube pink circle    YouTube pink circle

 OG    NAT

Twitter pink circle    Twitter pink circle