WAM's 2020 Song Of The Year Nominees

Jack Davies and The Bush Chooks. Jack Davies and The Bush Chooks.

Next week, West Australian Music (WAM) will award its 2020 Song Of The Year Award.

But not before they hand out a stack of other gongs across 17 categories (scroll down for the complete list of 2020 nominees).

2020 sees a year of multi-nominated songwriters, with three nominations for Jack Davies and The Bush Chooks and Indigo Ellis, and two apiece for Bolt Gun, MissGenius, Sydnee Carter, Brandon Poletti, Jamahl Ryder, Carla Geneve, Tracey Barnett, Noah Dillon, Maddie Mian, Siobhan Cotchin, Kate Pass Kohesia Ensemble, XIII and The Little Lord Street Band.

The award ceremony, 29 July, will be also be different with COVID-19 restrictions forcing the event will to be staged virtually.

Hosted by the sensational MC Odette Mercy, the Virtual Awards Party will feature an opening address from Premier of Western Australia, Hon. Mark McGowan MLA, plus an intimate performance of Wanjoo (Noongar word meaning 'Welcome') from Gina Williams and Guy Ghouse.

Taking the virtual stage for live performances will be 2020 nominees Adrian Dzvuke, Siobhan Cotchin, Fourth State Turiya, Latehorse and The Hunting Birds.

Testament to the musical talent born from the state, WA music luminaries Dave Faulkner (The Hoodoo Gurus), Katy Steele, Joe Ryan (POND), Stella Donnelly, Anna Laverty, Slumberjack, Ziggy Ramo, Lucy Peach, Kučka and Stu MacLeod (Eskimo Joe) will be stopping by to celebrate throughout the evening.

"We're thrilled to be presenting the WAM Song Of The Year awards as an online event for the first time in 2020," WAM Song Of TYhe Year Coordinator, Claire Hodgson says, "to help celebrate the craft of songwriting and the immense amount of musical talent that resides in WA, in what's been a difficult year for the music industry around the globe.

"Now more than ever has been the time to recognise the important role music plays in our lives and to value the efforts of musicians who write original music because of their passion and reverence for the art form."

Previous winners of the WAM Song Of The Year include Stella Donnelly, Beni Bjah, Kučka, Little Birdy, Abbe May, Carla Geneve, The Waifs and Methyl Ethel.

WAM's 2020 Song Of The Year Virtual Awards Party takes place 29 July streaming via Facebook (@musicwa) at 7.30pm local time.


MissGenius - 'I Don't Wanna Be'
Brandon Poletti - 'Find My Way Through'
Helen Townsend - 'Upward Now'
Tracey Barnett - 'Gotta Get Out'
Indigo Ellis - 'Home'
St Mary's College Choir Broome - 'Voice Treaty Truth'


Black River Ransom - 'Mars'
Dr Cuz and Friends - 'Spot On (Rocking Chair – Verandah Mix)'
Karin Page - 'Take Me Down'
La La's Python - 'Freedom Road'
Three Blind Knights - 'I'm Broke'
Tracey Barnett - 'Eyes Forward'


Camarano - 'Shadow Calling'
Jack Davies and The Bush Chooks - 'Half Frozen Beer'
Lincoln MacKinnon - 'I'm Bled'
Mike Goodwin - 'As If You Were There'
Siobhan Cotchin - 'Tear Myself Apart'
The Little Lord Street Band - 'Frankie's Back In Town'


Felicity Groom - 'Dance For None'
Fourth State Turiya - 'Flourish'
Grievous Bodily Calm - 'Alchemise'
Ruer - 'Glued To The Floor'
SINEKDOKI - 'CallSomeone'
Sydnee Carter - 'Drowning'


Alon Shimon Shai-Kaspi - 'Hearing Loss'
Bolt Gun - 'Existence Is Exile & Nothingness, Home'
Lachlan Skipworth - 'Intercurrent'
Parnell March - 'My Piano'
samarobryn - 'Melt'
XIII - 'My Josephine'


Bolt Gun - 'The Altar Of Lies Will Not Be Destroyed'
Filth Wizard - 'Snowflake'
Giant Dwarf - 'Black Thumb'
Ragdoll - 'Rust'
RATSALAD - 'Dead Rat'
Zoran - 'Imperatore'


Jack Davies and The Bush Chooks - 'Morning Coffee'
Noah Dillon - 'Matthew McConaughey'
PRISCILLA - 'Follow'
Stella Donnelly - 'Old Man'
Sydnee Carter - 'Plans'
The Hunting Birds - 'Catch Up'


The Little Lord Street Band - 'Frankie's Back In Town'
Siobhan Cotchin - 'Tear Myself Apart'
Noah Dillon - 'Matthew McConaughy'
Jack Davies and The Bush Chooks - 'Prime Minister'
Ghost Care - 'Home Run'
Carla Geneve - '2001'


Adam B Harris - 'Carolan's Ghost'
Daniel Susnjar - 'The Recipe'
Dilip n the Davs - 'Jamasutra Stylin'
Steve Hensby Band - 'Pucker Up'
Grace Barbé - 'Mardilo'
Kate Pass Kohesia Ensemble - 'Edge Of Reason'


Fiona Rea - 'It Ain't You'
Harry Mitchell - 'Sketches'
Holli Scott - 'DUST'
Kate Pass Kohesia Ensemble - 'Edge Of Reason'
MELVE - 'The Pentagon'
Nick Abbey - 'The Constant'


Bianca Gasbarri - 'Over You'
Darcy Hay - 'This Blue World Is Full Of Joy'
Flood the Moon - 'Release Me'
Latehorse - 'Satellites'
Maddie Mian - 'Like The Pain'
The Gusset - 'Never Let Me Know'


Desert Dogs - 'The Australian Dream'
HUSSY - 'Gatorade'
Shangrila - 'Fade Away'
The Limbs - 'Do Not Help Me'
The Reductors - 'Body Scan'
XIII - 'I Smell The Blood Of An Englishman'


Brandon Poletti - 'Sitting By Myself'
Carla Geneve - 'Things Change'
Kelea - 'Dear Sir Madam'
Man Sandal - 'Do Yourself A Favour'
Sam Carmody - 'Batavia'
The Money War - 'I Won't Be Around'


Adrian Dzvuke - 'Bad Like Ri Ri (feat. POW! Negro)'
Jamahl Ryder - 'Elevation'
Jaycee - 'Proud'
Knoe - 'Juice (feat. Paloma)'
Michael Kay - 'Selfish (produced by His-Story)'
Otiuh - 'Daytona Rolling'
Scott Mackenzie AKA Dead Tooth - 'Moxie'


Angelina Curtis - 'Reflections'
Indigo Ellis - 'Home'
Isabella Mowday - 'Lighthouse'
Leah Ballantyne - 'What We've Become'
Maddie Mian - 'Like The Pain'
Mitch Santiago (Ballardin) - 'Falling'

SCHOOLS 15 - 17

Electrocity Ensemble - 'Embers'
Farraday's Cage - 'Crossfire'
Gracie B - 'Take Two'
Jordan Anthony - 'Fighting The Blaze'
Tom Caughey - 'The Hideaway'
Vmarie - 'In Memory Of'


Indigo Ellis - 'Home'
Jamahl Ryder - 'Elevation'
JoKeria - 'Ballad Of Uncle Thomas'
MissGenius - 'I Don't Wanna Be'
Phil Bartlett and John Mitchell - 'Nganyang Koordamart: My Sweetheart'
Phoneline Valentine - 'Designated Driver'



Facebook pink circle    Twitter pink circle    Instagram pink circle    YouTube pink circle


Twitter pink circle spacer40 spacer40 spacer40


AcyMailing Module