The 2015 Queensland Music Award Finalists

Sahara Beck is nominated in the folk category

QMusic today announced the full list of finalists for the 2015 Queensland Music Awards.

To be hosted by triple j’s Sarah Howells and hip hop veteran Fred Leone aka Rival MC from Impossible Odds Records, the winners across 21 categories and the Billy Thorpe Scholarship winner (finalists are: Babaganouj, Ayla Scanlan, Moses Gunn Collective and Sahara Beck) will be crowned at the 2015 awards night taking place at new venue, the Brisbane Powerhouse Theatre on 30 March.

More than 40 judges from across the country and internationally listened to hundreds of song and video entries from artists all over Queensland. Entries were received from every corner of the State: Cooktown, Cairns, Innisfail, Townsville, Rockhampton, Ipswich, Toowoomba, Mackay, Moura, Tarzali, Kingaroy, Gayndah and Gladstone.

Performances at this year’s awards night will feature 4x ARIA Award winner Katie Noonan performing a remix of her new track ‘Peace Is My Drug’ alongside Brisbane wunderkind producer cln. The ethereal vocals and lush electronics of Airling will be sure to woo the crowd. Tjupurru and the Bulldawadda will perform their exciting blend of traditional and contemporary sounds. Blank Realm will carve up the stage, while AIR country album of the year winners Halfway will deliver a song from their album 'Any Old Love'. MKO will be hitting the stage after a massive 2014 with a new single. Showcasing her percussive folk, rising songstress Sahara Beck will delight with an original tune, while local favourite We All Want To round out the fantastic night of music and celebration!

Music fans around Australia will have a chance to vote for their favourite Queensland artists by casting their vote in the BOQ People’s Choice Awards, opening Round 1 voting on Monday 23 February. Categories will include the BOQ Award for; Most Popular Female, Most Popular Male and Most Popular Group, votes to be cast online via the Queensland Music Awards website.

QMusic’s Executive Officer Joel Edmondson said: “The diversity of musical talent from metropolitan and regional Queensland always amazes our QMA judges. Queensland’s almost endless supply of gifted musicians ensures that the awards event is exciting and fresh every year. The awards night gives you an experience of the infectious sense of community at the core of Queensland’s vibrant and thriving music scene.”



Mosman Alder
Eves The Behavior


The Grates
The John Steel Singers
DZ Deathrays

Electronic/ Dance

Lawrence English
The Kite String Tangle
Michelle Xen

Blues/ Roots

Emma Bosworth
Leanne Tennant
Pat Tierney
The Bella Reunion


Guards Of May
Tria Mera
A Breach Of Silence


Lizzie O'Keefe
Rafael Karlen
Kylie Southwell


The Medics
Robbie Miller
King Social
Autumn & Fall

Urban Schoolfight
Bec Laughton
King Social


Leanne Tennant
King Social


Alan Kelly And The Barleyshakes
Mrs Curly & the Norwegian Smoking Pipe
Coisa Linda

Folk Singer/ Songwriter

Sue-Anne Stewart
Sahara Beck
Sahara Beck
Quintessential Doll


King Social
Electrik Lemonade
The Vernons

Music Video

The Kite String Tangle
The John Steel Singers
The Amity Affliction

Let's Socialise

Facebook pink circle    Instagram pink circle    YouTube pink circle    YouTube pink circle

 OG    NAT

Twitter pink circle    Twitter pink circle