Alex The Astronaut 2022 Australia Tour

Alex The Astronaut tours Australia August-September 2022. Alex The Astronaut tours Australia August-September 2022.

Folk-pop singer-songwriter, Alex The Astronaut will celebrate the release of her forthcoming sophomore studio album ('How To Grow A Sunflower Underwater' out 22 July) with a national tour.

Set to take place August-September (after her appearance at Splendour In The Grass) this will be Alex's first Australian tour in four years and includes visits to Fremantle, Canberra, Sydney, Newcastle, Cairns, Brisbane, Melbourne, Hobart and Adelaide.

Alex will also perform at Darwin Festival, River Sounds (Bellingen) and Springtime Festival (Gold Coast).

The current single for 'How To Grow A Sunflower Underwater' is 'Haircut', a song inspired by personal growth and the journey of self-discovery side by side with your friends.

Today marks the release of the song's music video, which was directed by Claudia Bailey.



"I loved [2017 film] 'Call Me By Your Name' when I first saw it because it was presented as a love story first, and not just a 'gay story'," Alex says.

"In the same way, I wanted to show a story about gender just as a story about growing up. I think the biggest part of growing up is our friends.

"Claud the director made such a beautiful, bright narrative about two friends working out themselves side by side that fits the song perfectly.

"Claud, the crew, LJ (my onscreen best friend) and I had so much fun filming. It felt like we were filming a movie. I think it got across the joy, terror, brightness, dark and excitement of growing into the person that you want to be."

'How To Grow A Sunflower Underwater' is released 22 July, 2022. Pre-order it.

Concert tickets are on sale.

Alex The Astronaut 2022 Tour Dates

Sun 24 Jul - Splendour In The Grass (Byron Bay)
Thu 11 Aug - Freo.Social (Fremantle)
Sat 13 Aug - Darwin Festival
Thu 18 Aug - Kambri @ ANU - (Canberra)
Fri 19 Aug - City Recital Hall (Sydney)
Sat 20 Aug - The Cambridge (Newcastle)
Sun 21 Aug - River Sounds (Bellingen)
Fri 2 Sep - Tanks Arts Centre (Cairns)
Sat 3 Sep - The Triffid (Brisbane)
Sun 4 Sep - Springtime Festival (Gold Coast)
Thu 8 Sep - The Corner Hotel (Melbourne)
Fri 9 Sep - Altar (Hobart)
Sat 10 Sep - UniBar Adelaide

Community

National

Facebook pink circle    Twitter pink circle    Instagram pink circle    YouTube pink circle

Queensland

Twitter pink circle spacer40 spacer40 spacer40

Search

Newsletter

Please enable the javascript to submit this form