2023 Queensland Music Awards Finalists

Top to bottom L-R: Thelma Plum, Confidence Man, DZ Deathrays, Miiesha

Thelma Plum, DZ Deathrays and Confidence Man lead a cohort of Queensland's best and brightest musicians and bands as finalists for the 2023 Queensland Music Awards.

Spread across 17 categories, 74 musicians/ acts will vie for awards including Beddy Rays, Casey Barnes, Cub Sport, Greta Stanley (x2 nominees), Hope D, Jesswar, Mallrat, Miiesha (x2 nominees), Nat Dunn, Sahara Beck, Sycco, WAAX, William Barton and Yb. (x2 nominees), joining the aforementioned Thelma Plum, DZ Deathrays, and Confidence Man.

"We are so incredibly proud of the last year of music in Queensland," QMusic CEO Kris Stewart says.

"From epic stories of identity, like Thelma Plum's stellar EP 'Meanjin' or Beddy Rays break-neck debut album, to uplifting party-starters, like Confidence Man's sophomore album 'TILT' – our stories are reaching out into the world and defining what we're made of; and it's something special.

"The 2023 Queensland Music Awards will be a moment for our industry to come together and celebrate. Long-time judge and Head of Music at Triple A Murri Country, Dan Rennie says that the representation of First Nations women in this year's finalists was a wonderful moment for young girls across our state.

"I am so happy to see incredible First Nations artists like Thelma Plum, Sycco and Miiesha leading the nominations for the 2023 Queensland Music Awards.

"These women are powerful role models for the young girls of our state and their hard work and raw talent is taking them to the absolute peak of our industry.

"First Nations voice across the awards as a whole this year is really wonderful. From the talented Tristan Barton in Contemporary Classical, to Thelma in Pop, and Sycco and Dameeeela both in the running for the Electronic award."

The 2023 Queensland Music Awards take place at The Fortitude Music Hall (Brisbane) 28 March.

2023 Queensland Music Awards - Finalists

Blues-Roots Award

Darcy Kate - 'Blue Cascade'
Jackie Marshall - 'Chop Wood Carry Water'
Jen Mize & the Rough n Tumble - 'All Riled Up'
Pat Tierney - 'Shadows'

Children's Music Award

Blue Tac - 'Jump In The Pool'
Cheeky Monkey Club - 'Yes Or No - A Song About Consent'
Spotty Kites & Donna Dyson - 'Walk Around Wednesday'
The Mini Moshers - 'Waterslide'

Contemporary Classical Award

Camerata, Queensland's Chamber Orchestra, Tenzin Choegyal & Katherine Philp - 'Dolma'
Monique Clare - 'Downhill Skiing'
Nonsemble - 'Argentavis'
Tristan Barton - 'In Time'

Country Award

Casey Barnes - 'Small Town'
James Johnston - 'Country Boys'
Sammy White - 'Love On The Line'
Taylor Moss - 'What Am I Gonna Do?'

Electronic Award

Confidence Man - 'Luvin U Is Easy'
Dameila Thompson - 'The Shake Up'
Nat Dunn - 'State Of My Heart'
Sycco - 'Ripple'

Folk Award

Freight Train Foxes - 'Fly To You'
Greta Stanley - 'Keep My Cool'
Miranda vs Arizona - 'Changin''
Yb. - 'Blackphemy'

Heavy Award

Citadel - 'Malignant'
DZ Deathrays - 'Paranoid'
Greshka - 'Freedom From Clive'
The Atomic Beau Project - 'Ghosts'

Hip Hop Award

Day1 - 'Mbappe'
Jesswar - 'Waves'
Khi'leb - 'Cheques'
Siala - 'Blackout'

Indigenous Award

Beddy Rays - 'Handful'
Dani Teveluwe - 'Double Shot'
William Barton - 'Kalkani'
Tjaka - 'Break It Down'

Jazz Award

Angela Newcomb - 'Last Evening'
Sophie Min - 'Wind And The End'
The Dawn Light - 'The Moon Was Low'
Trichotomy - 'Forward Motion'

Pop Award

Asha Jefferies - 'Tank Tops'
Cub Sport - 'Always Got The Love'
Mallrat - 'Surprise Me (feat. Azealia Banks)'
Thelma Plum - 'Backseat Of My Mind'

Rock Award

Eliza & The Delusionals - 'Give You Everything'
Hope D - 'Emerald'
WAAX - 'No Doz'
Yb. - 'Sandra'

Youth Award (ages 10-17)

Amy Elise - 'Kind Of Insane'
FELONY - 'Anything To Feel Anything'
Lily Grace - 'The Two Of Us Meet'
Lottie McLeod - 'Happy Birthday'

Soul / Funk / R&B Award

Beckah Amani - 'Waiting On You'
Jordan Briton - 'Lights Out feat. Roman MC'
Miiesha - 'Still Dream'
Pink Matter - 'Can't Start'

World Award

Camerata, Queensland’s Chamber Orchestra, Tenzin Choegyal & Katherine Philp - 'Wo La So'
Future Destin - 'Malanga'
Innessa - 'Perekati-pole'
Isaac Conomos & Menaka Thomas - 'Space'

Remote / Regional Award

Greta Stanley - 'Red Earth Dirt'
High Tropics - 'Bipolar Disaster'
Miiesha - 'Everything'
Sahara Beck - 'Nothing Wrong With That'

Video Award

Ben Wrigley - 'Purple Static' by Mirrors
Deena Lynch - 'Cut' by Jaguar Jonze
Maeve McKenna & James Greville - 'Emerald' by Hope D

People's Choice Nominees

Metro Venue Of The Year

Miami Marketta
The Fortitude Music Hall
Princess Theatre
The Tivoli
The Triffid
Warehouse 25

Regional Venue Of The Year

Tanks Arts Centre

Festival Of The Year

Airlie Beach Festival of Music
Buskers by the Lake
Caloundra Music Festival
GRAIN's Birthday Weekender
Gympie Music Muster
NOOSA Alive!
Mountain Goat Valley Crawl
Yonder Festival

Let's Socialise

Facebook pink circle    Instagram pink circle    YouTube pink circle    YouTube pink circle

 OG    NAT

Twitter pink circle    Twitter pink circle