2023 AIR Awards Winners

The 2023 AIR Awards were staged at Freemasons Hall in Adelaide on 3 August, 2023.

Some of Australia's finest artists and bands have been celebrated at last night's 2023 AIR Awards ceremony, recognising the success of the country's independent music sector.

King Stingray were the big winners of the evening, walking away with three awards (from their four nominations) including Independent Album Of The Year.

Staged at the Freemasons Hall in Adelaide, with continued support from the South Australian Government's Music Development Office, the evening was co-hosted by Dylan Lewis, long-time AIR Awards Master of Ceremonies, who was joined again this year by Jessica Braithwaite as co-host.

Other winners on the night included Dope Lemon, Northlane, Genesis Owusu, Daniel Johns, Donny Benét, Teen Jesus And The Jean Teasers, Confidence Man and Andy Golledge.

Golledge was also one of a number of live performances alongside Wanderers, Yours Truly and Jem Cassar-Daley.

"Congratulations to all the nominees and award recipients," AIR CEO, Maria Amato says. "It was a great night of celebration and recognition for the talented, and resilient Australian independent artist and label community.

"We thank the South Australian Music Development Office for being our major sponsor and extend thanks to our supporting partners and label members for their continued support."

The 2023 Outstanding Achievement Award, went to Dr. Catherine Crock (who received a two-minute standing ovation), who was nominated by AIR members in recognition of her work revolutionising healthcare through music and the arts and for establishing the Hush Foundation.

"The Malinauskas Government is proud to host the wonderful artists and music businesses that make up the independent music sector on their night of nights," stated Minister for Arts, the Hon. Andrea Michaels.

"We would like to congratulate tonight's winners and nominees for excellence in their categories and look forward to seeing their continued success."

2023 AIR Awards Winners

Best Independent Blues and Roots Album or EP

Dope Lemon - 'Rose Pink Cadillac'

Best Independent Hip Hop Album or EP

Jesswar - 'Life's Short, Live Big'

Best Independent Country Album or EP

Andy Golledge - 'Strength Of A Queen'

Best Independent Jazz Album or EP

Donny Benét - 'Le Piano'

Best Independent Classical Album or EP

William Barton / Veronique Serret - 'Heartland'

Best Independent Children's Album or EP

Teeny Tiny Stevies - 'How To Be Creative'

Best Independent Dance, Electronica or Club Single

Cub Sport – 'Always Got The Love'

Best Independent Punk Album or EP

Teen Jesus And The Jean Teasers - 'Pretty Good For A Girl Band'

Best Independent Heavy Album or EP

Northlane - 'Obsidian'

Best Independent Dance or Electronica Album or EP

Confidence Man - 'Tilt'

Best Independent Rock Album or EP

King Stingray - 'King Stingray'

Best Independent Soul/R&B Album or EP

Felivand - 'Ties'

Best Independent Pop Album or EP

Daniel Johns - 'Futurenever'

Breakthrough Independent Artist Of The Year

King Stingray

Independent Song Of The Year

Genesis Owusu - 'Get Inspired'

Independent Album Of The Year

King Stingray - 'King Stingray'

Independent Marketing Team Of The Year

I Oh You, Mushroom Marketing - Confidence Man, 'Tilt'

Independent Publicity Team Of The Year

Genna Alexopoulos - Teen Jesus And The Jean Teasers, 'Pretty Good For A Girl Band'

Outstanding Achievement Award

Dr. Catherine Crock

Independent Label Of The Year

Chapter Music

Let's Socialise

Facebook pink circle    Instagram pink circle    YouTube pink circle    YouTube pink circle

 OG    NAT

Twitter pink circle    Twitter pink circle