2023 AIR Awards Nominees

The 2023 AIR Awards will be held at the Freemasons Hall (Adelaide) 3 August.

The country's finest independent musicians and bands have been spotlighted with the nominees revealed for the 2023 AIR Awards.

An annual celebration of Australia's independent music sector, the AIR Awards and its companion event Indie-Con Australia conference both return to Adelaide, the UNESCO City of Music, in early August.

This year's nominees is led by King Stingray with four nominations (including Independent Album Of The Year and Breakthrough Independent Artist Of The Year).

While Flume, Northlane, Julia Jacklin, Daniel Johns, Cub Sport, Teen Jesus and the Jean Teasers, Jem Cassar-Daley, Andy Golledge, Telenova, and Wanderers have each received two nominations.

Notable artists with one nomination include previous winners Vance Joy, Big Scary, Genesis Owusu, The Jungle Giants, Parkway Drive, Jen Cloher and Adam Brand as well as previously nominated artists Ball Park Music, Winston Surfshirt, Dope Lemon, Slowly Slowly, Mildlife, Jesswar, Casey Barnes and Allday.

There are also two new AIR Awards categories in 2023: Independent Marketing Team Of The Year and Independent Publicity Team Of The Year.

Focused on issues that are specifically relevant to the independent music sector, AIR's Indie-Con Australia conference will be staged at Mercury Cinema (2-4 August) followed by Scouted – a festival showcasing South Australia's best emerging music talent. Details about Indie-Con speakers will be revealed in the coming weeks.

"The Malinauskas Government is proud to support the AIR Awards and Indie-Con Australia Conference in 2023," Minister for Arts Andrea Michaels MP says.

"It is fantastic to be hosting the awards here in Adelaide – Australia's only UNESCO City of Music – and I congratulate all of the nominees.

"It's a wonderful opportunity to recognise the work the independent music industry does in providing talented and emerging artists and music businesses with a platform to share their art with a wider audience."

The 2023 AIR Awards will be held at the Freemasons Hall (Adelaide) 3 August. 2023 Indie-Con Australia conference takes place at Mercury Cinema (Adelaide) 2-4 August.

2023 AIR Awards Nominees

Best Independent Blues And Roots Album or EP

Baby Velvet - 'Please Don't Be In Love With Someone Else'
Dope Lemon - 'Rose Pink Cadillac'
Little Quirks - 'Call To Unknowns'
William Crighton - 'Water And Dust'
Ziggy Alberts - 'Dancing In The Dark'

Best Independent Hip Hop Album or EP

Allday - 'Excuse Me'
Danté Knows - 'Phase One'
Jesswar - 'Life's Short, Live Big'
Kween G - 'Sensible Rebel'
Yawdoesitall - 'Life I Chose'

Best Independent Country Album or EP

Adam Brand - 'All Or Nothing'
Andy Golledge - 'Strength Of A Queen'
Casey Barnes - 'Light It Up'
Freya Josephine Hollick - 'The Real World'
Lyn Bowtell - 'Wiser'

Best Independent Jazz Album or EP

Barney McAll - 'Precious Energy'
Donny Benét - 'Le Piano'
Jeremy Rose - 'Face To Face'
Mildlife - 'Live From South Channel Island'
Surprise Chef - 'Education & Recreation'

Best Independent Classical Album or EP

Ensemble Offspring - 'To Listen, To Sing – Ngarra-Burria: First Peoples Composers'
Melbourne Symphony Orchestra/ Benjamin Northey - 'Nigel Westlake: Blueback [Original Motion Picture Score]'
Mirusia - 'Songbird'
Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra - 'Nightlight'
William Barton/ Veronique Serret - 'Heartland'

Best Independent Children’s Album or EP

Emily Wurramara - 'Ayarra Emeba (Calm Songs)'
Emma Memma - 'Emma Memma'
Play School - 'Very Jazzy Street Party'
Teeny Tiny Stevies - 'How To Be Creative'
The Wiggles - 'Rewiggled'

Best Independent Dance, Electronica or Club Single

Cub Sport - 'Always Got The Love'
Flume - 'Say Nothing feat. May-A'
Lime Cordiale, Idris Elba, Fatboy Slim - 'Holiday Fatboy Slim Remix'
Memphis LK - 'Coffee'
PNAU & Troye Sivan - 'You Know What I Need'

Best Independent Punk Album or EP

Body Type - 'Everything Is Dangerous But Nothing's Surprising'
Hard-Ons - 'Yummy!'
Press Club - 'Endless Motion'
Teen Jesus And The Jean Teasers - 'Pretty Good For A Girl Band'
These New South Whales - 'TNSW'

Best Independent Heavy Album or EP

Clamm - 'Care'
Northlane - 'Obsidian'
Parkway Drive - 'Darker Still'
Thornhill - 'Heroine'
Yours Truly - 'Is This What I Look Like?'

Best Independent Dance or Electronica Album or EP

Confidence Man - 'Tilt'
Flume - 'Palaces'
Ninajirachi - 'Second Nature'
Telenova - 'Stained Glass Love (Telenoir Versions)'
The Jungle Giants - 'Love Signs Remixed'

Best Independent Rock Album or EP

Ball Park Music - 'Weirder & Weirder'
Camp Cope - 'Running With The Hurricane'
King Stingray - 'King Stingray'
Ocean Alley - 'Low Altitude Living'
Slowly Slowly - 'Daisy Chain'

Best Independent Soul/R&b Album or EP

Ashli - 'Only One'
Beckah Amani - 'April'
Felivand - 'Ties'
Wanderers - 'Wanderers'
Winston Surfshirt - 'Panna Cotta'

Best Independent Pop Album or EP

Big Scary - 'Me And You'
Daniel Johns - 'Futurenever'
Jem Cassar-Daley - 'I Don't Know Who To Call'
Telenova - 'Stained Glass Love'
Vance Joy - 'In Our Own Sweet Time'

Breakthrough Independent Artist Of The Year

Andy Golledge
Jem Cassar-Daley
King Stingray
Teen Jesus And The Jean Teasers

Independent Song Of The Year

Cub Sport - 'Always Got The Love'
Genesis Owusu - 'Get Inspired'
Jen Cloher - 'Mana Takatāpui'
Julia Jacklin - 'I Was Neon'
King Stingray - 'Camp Dog'

Independent Album Of The Year

Daniel Johns - 'Futurenever'
Julia Jacklin - 'Pre Pleasure'
King Stingray - 'King Stingray'
Laura Jean - 'Amateurs'
Northlane - 'Obsidian'

Best Independent Label

ABC Music
Chapter Music
Domestic La La

Independent Marketing Team Of The Year

ABC Music, The Orchard - The Wiggles, 'Rewiggled'
Chugg Music, The Annex - Lime Cordiale, 'Cordi Elba'
Domestic La La - Teen Jesus And The Jean Teasers, 'Pretty Good For A Girl Band'
Future Classic - Flume, 'Palaces'
I Oh You, Mushroom Marketing - Confidence Man, 'Tilt'

Independent Publicity Team Of The Year

Genna Alexopoulos - Teen Jesus And The Jean Teasers, 'Pretty Good For A Girl Band'
Mushroom Publicity - Confidence Man, 'Tilt'
Positive Feedback - Lime Cordiale, 'Cordi Elba'
RPM, The Comms Department - The Wiggles, 'Rewiggled'
Thinking Loud - Genesis Owusu, 'Get Inspired'

Let's Socialise

Facebook pink circle    Instagram pink circle    YouTube pink circle    YouTube pink circle

 OG    NAT

Twitter pink circle    Twitter pink circle