2022 National Indigenous Music Awards Finalists

L to R top to bottom: Thelma Plum, Jessica Mauboy, Electric Fields, Baker Boy L to R top to bottom: Thelma Plum, Jessica Mauboy, Electric Fields, Baker Boy

The annual celebration of Indigenous music, the finalists for the 2022 National Indigenous Music Awards (NIMAs) have been revealed with 20 artists nominated as the finest in First Nations music.

Leading the way with four nominations is Malyangapa and Barkindji artist Barkaa including Song Of The Year and New Talent Of The Year.

The ubiquitous Baker Boy (a Yolngu man) has collected three nominations including Artist Of The Year. Those with two nods each are Jessica Mauboy, Thelma Plum, King Stingray and Jem Cassar-Daley.

Other notable finalists are The Kid Laroi, Miiesha, Mo Ju, Electric Fields, Xavier Rudd, Emma Donovan & The Putbacks, Birdz, Dallas Woods, Archie Roach, and Tasman Keith with one nomination each.

The NIMAs ceremony will be staged Darwin Amphitheatre (6 August) and will feature live performances (for the first time in three years) from Thelma Plum, King Stingray, Emma Donovan & The Putbacks, Birdz & Fred Leone, Yirrmal, and J-MILLA.

"After a two-year hiatus it's very exciting to be bringing the NIMAs back to the Darwin Amphitheatre on Larrakia Country," NIMA Creative Director Ben Graetz says.

"I'm thrilled to see such an extraordinary list of finalists this year and cannot wait for live performances from some of our most powerful First Nations musicians such as Thelma Plum and Emma Donovan & the Putbacks.

"This year is all about coming together and celebrating as one, big community."

National Indigenous Music Awards will be staged at Darwin Amphitheatre 6 August.

2022 National Indigenous Music Awards Finalists

Artist Of The Year

The Kid Laroi
Jessica Mauboy
Baker Boy
Electric Fields
Thelma Plum
King Stingray

Song Of The Year

Thelma Plum - 'Backseat Of My Mind'
Miiesha - 'Made For Silence'
King Stingray - 'Milkumana'
Mo Ju - 'Sometime'
Barkaa - 'King Brown'
Xavier Rudd - 'Ball And Chain'

Album Of The Year

Baker Boy - 'Gela'
Emma Donovan & The Putbacks - 'Under These Streets'
Jem Cassar-Daley - 'I Don't Know Who To Call'
Birdz - 'Legacy'
Dallas Woods - 'Julie's Boy'
Archie Roach - 'My Songs 1989-2021'

Film Clip Of The Year

Tasman Keith - 'Love Too Soon'
Barkaa - 'King Brown'
Barkaa - 'Blak Matriarchy'
Baker Boy - 'My Mind'
Jessica Mauboy - 'Automatic'

New Talent Of The Year

Jem Cassar-Daley
Lil Kootsie
Tilly Tjala Thomas

Community Clip Of The Year

Koori Mob - 'Our Country, Our Life' (Desert Pea Media)
Gumbaynggirr Collective - 'Through The Smoke' (Desert Pea Media)
Doomadgee (QLD) - 'Where We Wanna Be' (Indigenous Outreach Project)
Numbulwar (NT) - 'Loud & Proud' (Indigenous Outreach Project)
Ballarat (VIC) - 'Don't Give Up On Yourself (Indigenous Outreach Project)

Media Kit Menu Module



Facebook pink circle    Twitter pink circle    Instagram pink circle    YouTube pink circle


Twitter pink circle spacer40 spacer40 spacer40