2022 AIR Awards Nominees

The 2022 AIR Awards ceremony will be staged in Adelaide 4 August.

Once again returning to the UNESCO City of Music, Adelaide, the 2022 AIR Awards and annual Indie-Con Australia music conference will be staged in early August.

A celebration of Australia's independent music sector, the AIR Awards recognise the success of artists and bands across the country; and often it's the first industry accolade they receive on a path to international stardom.

Some of these artists include Courtney Barnett, Vance Joy, Flume, Sampa The Great, Sia, Sheppard, Peking Duk, A.B Original, King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard and Violent Soho.

The nominees for the 2022 AIR Awards have been revealed with the prestigious Album Of The Year a contest between The Jungle Giants, Genesis Owusu, Courtney Barnett, Liz Stringer and Amyl And The Sniffers.

Genesis Owusu is also in the running for Song Of The Year honours alongside King Stingray, Vance Joy, Casey Barnes and Jaguar Jonze.

While the Breakthrough Independent Artist Of The Year nominees are Maple Glider, Martha Marlow, Teenage Joans, Telenova and Milan Ring.

"Music – be it recorded or live – plays such a huge part of our lives, and has a significant impact on our culture, well-being and on our economy," South Australian Minister for Arts, Andrea Michaels MP says.

"I would like to congratulate the nominees this year and look forward to welcoming delegates from around the country back to Adelaide."

Other notable nominees include Emma Donovan & The Putbacks, The Wolfe Brothers, The Teskey Brothers, Angus & Julia Stone, Ngaiire, Big Scary, The Rubens, Courtney Barnett, Chillinit, Flight Facilities, PNAU, Hiatus Kaiyote, DZ Deathrays and Loser.

"We look forward to welcoming our members and speakers to Adelaide for the 2022 Indie-Con Australia Conference and AIR Awards, and thank the South Australian Government for their continued support," Maria Amato, AIR CEO, says.

The 2022 AIR Awards ceremony is invite-only and will be staged at Freemasons Hall (Adelaide) 4 August. The Indie-Con Australia conference will run 3-5 August.

2022 AIR Awards Nominees

Independent Album Of The Year

The Jungle Giants - 'Love Signs'
Genesis Owusu - 'Smiling With No Teeth'
Courtney Barnett - 'Things Take Time, Take Time'
Liz Stringer - 'First Time Really Feeling'
Amyl And The Sniffers - 'Comfort To Me'

Independent Song Of The Year

King Stingray - 'Get Me Out'
Vance Joy - 'Missing Piece'
Casey Barnes - 'God Took His Time On You'
Genesis Owusu - 'Smiling With No Teeth'
Jaguar Jonze - 'Who Died And Made You King'

Breakthrough Independent Artist Of The Year

Maple Glider
Martha Marlow
Teenage Joans
Milan Ring

Best Independent Soul/R&B Album or EP

Emma Donovan & The Putbacks - 'Under These Streets'
Milan Ring - 'I'm Feeling Hopeful'
Parvyn - 'Sa'
Liyah Knight - 'The Travellers Guide'
The Soul Movers - 'Evolution'

Best Independent Country Album or EP

Georgia State Line - 'In Colour'
The Wolfe Brothers - 'Kids On Cassette'
Tex Perkins & The Fat Rubber Band - 'Tex Perkins & The Fat Rubber Band'
Felicity Urquhart & Josh Cunningham - 'The Song Club'
Andrew Swift - 'The Art Of Letting Go'

Best Independent Blues And Roots Album or EP

The Teskey Brothers With Orchestra Victoria - 'Live At Hamer Hall'
Martha Marlow - 'Medicine Man'
Maple Glider - 'To Enjoy Is The Only Thing'
Angus & Julia Stone - 'Life Is Strange'
Liz Stringer - 'First Time Really Feeling'

Best Independent Pop Album or EP

Ngaiire - '3'
The Jungle Giants - 'Love Signs'
Big Scary - 'Daisy'
The Rubens - '0202'
Imogen Clark - 'Bastards'

Best Independent Rock Album or EP

Courtney Barnett - 'Things Take Time, Take Time'
Mike Noga - 'Open Fire'
Jimmy Barnes - 'Flesh And Blood'
The Hard Ons - 'I'm Sorry Sir, That Riff's Been Taken'
Hayley Mary - 'The Drip'

Best Independent Classical Album or EP

Nat Bartsch - 'Hope'
Australian Chamber Orchestra / Richard Tognetti - 'River'
Genevieve Lacey / Marshall McGuire - 'Bower'
Mirusia - 'Live In Concert'
Grigoryan Brothers - 'This Is Us: A Musical Reflection Of Australia'

Best Independent Hip Hop Album or EP

Chillinit - 'Family Ties'
Genesis Owusu - 'Smiling With No Teeth'
Jesswar - 'Tropixx'
Kobie Dee - 'Gratitude Over Pity'
St. Christoph & Shaade - 'No Pressure'

Best Independent Dance or Electronica Album or EP

Flight Facilities - 'Forever'
Kučka - 'Wrestling'
Telenova - 'Tranquilize Remixes'
June Jones - 'Leafcutter'
Pretty Girl - 'Middle Ground'

Best Independent Dance, Electronica or Club Single

Shouse - 'Love Tonight (David Guetta Remix)'
Confidence Man - 'Holiday'
PNAU - 'Stranger Love feat. Budjerah'
Alice Ivy & Sycco - 'Weakness'
June Jones - 'Home'

Best Independent Jazz Album or EP

Baby Et Lulu - 'Album Trois'
Hiatus Kaiyote - 'Mood Valiant'
Joseph Tawadros - 'Hope In An Empty City'
Hilary Geddes Quartet - 'Parkside'
Sam Anning - 'Oaatchapai'

Best Independent Punk Album or EP

DZ Deathrays - 'Positive Rising: Part. II'
Loser - 'All The Rage'
Mod Con - 'Modern Condition'
Amyl And The Sniffers - 'Comfort To Me'
RedHook - 'Bad Decisions'

Best Independent Heavy Album or EP

Twelve Foot Ninja - 'Vengeance'
Void Of Vision - 'Chronicles I: Lust'
Mirrors - 'The Ego's Weight'
Wolf & Cub - 'Dusk At The Watagan Forest Motel'
Lord - 'Undercovers Vol. 1'

Best Independent Children's Album or EP

Diver City - 'Dance Silly'
Tiptoe Giants - 'Outside Time (My Favourite Time Of Day)'
The Beanies - 'Let's Go!'
The Wiggles - 'Lullabies With Love'
Spotty Kites - 'Easter Songs For Kids'

Let's Socialise

Facebook pink circle    Instagram pink circle    YouTube pink circle    YouTube pink circle

 OG    NAT

Twitter pink circle    Twitter pink circle