2021 National Indigenous Music Awards To Be Broadcast On triple j & Double J

The Kid LAROI is up for three awards at the 2021 National Indigenous Music Awards. The Kid LAROI is up for three awards at the 2021 National Indigenous Music Awards.

After the original awards ceremony (that was to be staged in Darwin) was postponed due to COVID-related issues, the 2021 National Indigenous Music Awards (NIMA) will now proceed as a two-hour special on 14 November broadcast on triple j, Double J and triple j Unearthed.

Set to feature exclusive performances, the NIMAs have partnered with triple j's First Nations show, Blak Out whose host, proud Yuin man and future Mayor of Nowra Nooky will present a whole lot of awards as well as dishing out some mad yarns and wicked tunes.

"NIMA, NIMA, NIMA, pumpkin eater! I'm pumped to be hosting the NIMAs and celebrating the mob," declares Nooky.

"It's been a big year for Blak music and it's mad we get to celebrate it here on Blak Out. It's the two hours of power special and I'm G'd up. Let's go!"

With seven weeks at #1 in the US, Sydney's The Kid LAROI is up for three awards as is Baker Boy (who is about to drop his debut album 'Gela') and 2020 J Award nominee Sycco.

Two-time finalists Birdz, Miiesha and Tia Gostelow, plus first-time NIMA nominees Budjerah, J-MILLA, King Stingray, JK-47 and Chasing Ghosts are also in the running to win an award.

"It's unfortunate that the live event is unable to go ahead this year at the Darwin Amphitheatre, but I am extremely excited to be working with Nooky and all the team at triple j, celebrating musical Blak Excellence through the radio," NIMAs Creative Director Ben Graetz says.

You can tune in to triple j, Double J and triple j Unearthed to listen to the 2021 National Indigenous Music Awards 14 November (5-7pm EDT).

2021 National Indigenous Music Awards Finalists

Artist of the Year

Baker Boy
Jessica Mauboy

Album of the Year

Tia Gostelow - 'Chrysalis'
The Kid LAROI - 'F... Love'
Leah Flanagan - 'Colour By Number'
JK-47 - 'Made For This'
Benny Walker - 'Chosen Line'

Song of the Year

Baker Boy, Dallas Woods, Sampa The Great - 'Better Days'
Birdz - 'Bagi-la-m Bargan'
Miiesha - 'Damaged'
The Kid LAROI - 'Without You'
Sycco - 'Dribble'

New Talent of the Year

Beddy Rays
King Stingray
Chasing Ghosts

Film Clip of the Year

Budjerah - 'Higher'
Baker Boy - 'Ride' feat. Yirrmal
Troy Cassar-Daley - 'Back On Country'
Sycco - 'My Ways'
Tia Gostelow - 'Two Lovers'

Community Clip of the Year

Kakadu Collective and Victor Rostron - 'Mayali'
Dunghutti community in South West Rocks - 'Fig Tree'
Mob - 'Barrunba (Dreaming)'
Gunbalanya School - 'Stories Of The Land'
Gunbalanya School - 'Talk About Emotions'
Students of Peppimenarti School - 'Stand Strong'

Indigenous Language Award of the Year

Guwanbal Gurruwiwi and Netanela Mizrahii - 'The Djari Project'
Shellie Morris and Jason Durrurrnga - 'Dharuk Gurtha'
Garrangali Band - 'Tongues of the Fire'
Stuart Joel Nuggett - 'I Am That Man/Ngaaya-Baaya'
Stuart Joel Nuggett - 'Monsoon/Kuyubulu'



Facebook pink circle    Twitter pink circle    Instagram pink circle    YouTube pink circle


Twitter pink circle spacer40 spacer40 spacer40



Please enable the javascript to submit this form