2021 AIR Awards Nominees

2021 AIR Awards will be an invite-only event at the Freemasons Hall (Adelaide) 5 August.

Once again returning to Adelaide (the UNESCO City of Music) for the award ceremony, the nominees for the 2021 AIR Awards have been revealed with Spacey Jane leading the way with four nominations and DMA'S with three of their own.

While The Jungle Giants, Haiku Hands, Emma Donovan & The Putbacks, Fanny Lumsden and Gordi each have earned multiple nominations.

For many artists, the AIR Awards are their first industry recognition that has led to national and international attention. Some of these artists include Courtney Barnett, Vance Joy, Flume, Sampa The Great, Sia, Sheppard, Peking Duk, A.B Original, King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard and Violent Soho.

Ball Park Music, DMA'S, Emma Donovan & The Putbacks, Fanny Lumsden and Spacey Jane will contest album of the year honours; Spacey Jane are also up for the song of the year award, alongside Gordi, King Stingray, Merci, Mercy, and The Jungle Giants.

The artist of the year category will be a battle between Haiku Hands, Hayley Mary, Mia Wray, Spacey Jane and Sycco.

"We congratulate all of the nominees and look forward to welcoming event organiser AIR, and delegates back to South Australia to celebrate the achievements of the independent music sector through the AIR Awards," Innovation and Skills Minister David Pisoni said.

The AIR Awards ceremony (at Freemasons Hall 5 August) will be staged alongside AIR's annual industry conference Indie-Con Australia (4-6 August), which focuses on relevant issues, themes and conversations pertinent to the independent music industry.

"We look forward to welcoming our members and speakers to Adelaide for the 2021 AIR Awards and our Indie-Con Australia Conference," Maria Amato AIR CEO says, "and are extremely grateful for the continued support from South Australia's Department for Innovation and Skills, through the Music Development Office and the South Australian Tourism Commission, through Events South Australia."

AIR members will receive complimentary invitations to attend the 2021 Indie-Con Australia conference as well as the AIR Awards. Non-members can also purchase tickets to attend Indie-Con Australia online. Stay tuned for details about speakers.

The 2021 AIR Awards will be an invite-only event at the Freemasons Hall (Adelaide) 5 August. Indie-Con Australia conference runs 4-6 August.

2021 AIR Awards Nominees

Independent Album Of The Year

Ball Park Music - 'Ball Park Music'
DMA'S - 'The Glow'
Emma Donovan & The Putbacks - 'Crossover'
Fanny Lumsden - 'Fallow'
Spacey Jane - 'Sunlight'

Independent Song Of The Year

Gordi - 'Extraordinary Life'
King Stingray - 'Hey Wanhaka'
Merci, Mercy - 'F...ed Myself Up'
Spacey Jane - 'Booster Seat'
The Jungle Giants - 'Sending Me Ur Loving'

Breakthrough Independent Artist Of The Year

Haiku Hands
Hayley Mary
Mia Wray
Spacey Jane

Best Independent Hip Hop Album or EP

Charlie Threads - 'Say Less'
Chillinit - 'The Octagon'
Horrorshow - 'New Normal Deluxe'
Ryland Rose - 'Champion Of The Losers'
St. Christoph & Shaade - 'Big Mood'

Best Independent Soul/R&B Album or EP

Emma Donovan & The Putbacks - 'Crossover'
Jeida Woods - 'Hive'
Kylie Auldist - 'This Is What Happiness Looks Like'
Liyah Knight - 'Nesting'
Serina Pech - 'Politics'

Best Independent Country Album or EP

Andy Golledge - 'Namoi'
Casey Barnes - 'Town Of A Million Dreams'
Cool Sounds - 'Sleepers'
Fanny Lumsden - 'Fallow'
Travis Collins - 'Wreck Me'

Best Independent Blues And Roots Album or EP

#1 Dads - 'Golden Repair'
Emma Swift - 'Blonde On The Tracks'
Josh Teskey & Ash Grunwald - 'Push The Blues Away'
The Teskey Brothers - 'Live At The Forum'
Vika & Linda – 'Sunday (The Gospel According To Iso)'

Best Independent Pop Album or EP

Cub Sport - 'Like Nirvana'
Donny Benét - 'Mr Experience'
Gordi - 'Our Two Skins'
Jack River - 'Stranger Heart'
Tia Gostelow - 'Chrysalis'

Best Independent Rock Album or EP

DMA'S - 'The Glow'
Lime Cordiale - '14 Steps To A Better You'
Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever - 'Sideways To New Italy'
Slowly Slowly - 'Race Car Blues'
Spacey Jane - 'Sunlight'

Best Independent Heavy Album or EP

In Hearts Wake - 'Kaliyuga'
Make Them Suffer - 'How To Survive A Funeral'
Parkway Drive - 'Viva The Underdogs'
Polaris - 'The Death Of Me'
Wolf & Cub - 'Nil'

Best Independent Punk Album or EP

A. Swayze & The Ghosts - 'Paid Salvation'
Cable Ties - 'Far Enough'
Cry Club - 'God, I'm Such A Mess'
The Chats - 'High Risk Behaviour'
Violent Soho - 'Everything Is A-OK'

Best Independent Dance or Electronica Album or EP

Banoffee - 'Look At Us Now Dad'
Haiku Hands - 'Haiku Hands'
Lanks - 'Spirits Pt. 1'
Lastlings - 'First Contact'
Vlossom - 'My Friend'

Best Independent Dance, Electronica or Club Single

DMA'S - 'Criminals (The Avalanches Remix)'
Flume - 'The Difference feat. Toro Y Moi'
PNAU - 'River Feat. Ladyhawke'
Shockone - 'Follow Me'
The Jungle Giants - 'Sending Me Ur Loving (TOM Trago Remix)'

Best Independent Jazz Album or EP

Julien Wilson - 'Stock'
Katie Noonan - 'The Sweetest Taboo'
Mildlife - 'Automatic'
Party Dozen - 'Pray For Party Dozen'
Vanessa Perica Orchestra - 'Love Is A Temporary Madness'

Best Independent Classical Album or EP

Andrew Blanch / Ariel Nurhadi - 'Alchemy'
Australian Chamber Orchestra / Richard Tognetti - 'Brahms: Symphonies 3 & 4'
Ensemble Offspring - 'Songbirds'
Jayson Gillham / Adelaide Symphony Orchestra / Nicholas Carter - 'Beethoven: The Piano Concertos'
Joseph Tawadros / James Tawadros/ Sydney Symphony Orchestra / Benjamin Northey - 'Live At The Sydney Opera House'

Best Independent Children's Album or EP

Amber Lawrence - 'Kids Gone Country 2 - Fun For All The Family'
Diver City - 'Welcome To Diver City'
Spotty Kites - 'Have A Spotty Christmas'
Teeny Tiny Stevies - 'Thoughtful Songs For Little People'
The Wiggles - 'Choo Choo Trains, Propeller Planes & Toot Toot Chugga Chugga Big Red Car!'

Let's Socialise

Facebook pink circle    Instagram pink circle    YouTube pink circle    YouTube pink circle

 OG    NAT

Twitter pink circle    Twitter pink circle