2020 AIR Awards Winners

Tones And I © Giulia Giannini McGauran
Our eclectic team of writers from around Australia – and a couple beyond – with decades of combined experience and interest in all fields.

A celebration of Australia's best independent music, the 2020 AIR Awards were staged tonight (1 October) at The Lions Art Factory in Adelaide – Australia's UNESCO City of Music.

Both Tones And I and Stella Donnelly each scored two awards, with the 'Dance Monkey' musician collecting Breakthrough Independent Artist Of The Year and Song Of The Year gongs.

WA's Donnelly's 2019 debut album 'Beware Of The Dogs' was awarded Album Of The Year and Pop Album Of The Year.

Other genre winners included Julia Jacklin (Blues And Roots), Northlane (Heavy), Angie McMahon (Rock), DZ Deathrays (Punk) and Sampa The Great (Hip Hop) and Caiti Baker (Soul, R&B).

While Regurgitator's Pogogo Show scored the Children's Album award for 'The Really Really Really Boring Album'.

The evening featured a number of excellent live performances including Album Of The Year winner Stella Donnelly as well as The Teskey Brothers, Angie McMahon and The Soul Movers.

TV-radio personality Dylan Lewis returned as AIR's Master of Ceremonies and was joined by Nine Network's Jessica Braithwaite.

"We congratulate all the nominees and award recipients, and are grateful for the ongoing support we have received from the South Australian Government and our supporting partners," AIR CEO, Maria Amato says.

"We look forward to celebrating the success of the Australian independent music sector in Adelaide again next year."

2020 Air Awards Winners

Best Independent Label

ABC Music

Independent Album Of The Year

Stella Donnelly – 'Beware Of The Dogs'

Independent Song Of The Year

Tones And I – 'Dance Monkey'

Best Independent Soul/R&B Album Or EP

Caiti Baker – 'Dust (PT. 1)'

Best Independent Country Album Or EP

Charlie Collins – 'Snowpine' 

Best Independent Blues And Roots Album Or EP

Julia Jacklin – 'Crushing'

Best Independent Pop Album Or EP

Stella Donnelly – 'Beware Of The Dogs'

Best Independent Rock Album Or EP

Angie McMahon – 'Salt'

Best Independent Classical Album Or EP

Richard Tognetti & Erin Helyard – 'Beethoven & Mozart Violin Sonatas'

Breakthrough Independent Artist Of The Year

Tones And I

Best Independent Hip Hop Album Or EP

Sampa The Great – 'The Return'

Best Independent Dance Or Electronica Album Or EP

The Jungle Giants – 'Heavy Hearted 1,2,3,4 AM Remixes' 

Best Independent Dance, Electronica Or Club Single

Dom Dolla – 'San Frandisco'

Best Independent Jazz Album Or EP

Kate Ceberano & Paul Grabowsky – 'Tryst' 

Best Independent Punk Album Or EP

DZ Deathrays – 'Positive Rising: Part 1'

Best Independent Heavy Album Or EP

Northlane – 'Alien' 

Best Independent Children's Album Or EP

Regurgitator's Pogogo Show – 'The Really Really Really Really Boring Album'

Outstanding Achievement Award

Emily Ulman

Let's Socialise

Facebook pink circle    Instagram pink circle    YouTube pink circle    YouTube pink circle

 OG    NAT

Twitter pink circle    Twitter pink circle