2019 Queensland Music Award Winners

Brisbane pop artist Clea picked up the 2019 Queensland Music Award for Song Of The Year for 'Dreaming'.

The Queensland Music Awards (QMAs) returned to Royal International Convention Centre at Brisbane Showgrounds on Tuesday night (19 March) for a star-studded ceremony crowning 23 winners.

Hosted by Patience Hodgson (The Grates) and comedian Mel Buttle, the sold-out celebration of Queensland music also featured live performances by Amy Shark and DZ Deathrays, Resin Dogs, Clea, Bobby Alu, Emma Beau and Tokyo Twilight.

Celebrated recipients include Brisbane’s ethereal pop artist Clea, whose song ‘Dreaming’ was awarded the coveted 2019 Song of the The Year.

Making QMA history, Tia Gostelow became the youngest ever winner of the Album of The Year award for her outstanding debut record ‘Thick Skin’.

Emerging songwriters dominated the night. Prolific songwriter and multi-instrumentalist, Emily Wurramara took home the Indigenous Award with ‘Lady Blue’. Sunshine Coast’s Sahara Beck won the Regional Award for her big chorus pop anthem ‘Here We Go Again’.

Best Rock song was taken out by multi-award winning party starters, The Jungle Giants with ‘Used To Be In Love’, and electronic powerhouse, The Kite String Tangle took home the Electronic/Dance Award for the second year running, this time for ‘Give It Time (feat. Aalias)’, while global sensation Confidence Man picked up their first Export Achievement award.

The 2019 Billy Thorpe Scholarship was picked up by Brisbane dream-pop shoegaze outfit Pool Shop.

Henry ‘Seaman’ Dan was honoured with the Grant McLennan Lifetime Achievement Awardfor his work, blending traditional Torres Strait Islander songs and pearling songs with jazz, hula and the blues, which he began recording at the age of 70.

Returning with a new album in 2018, Queensland favourites Resin Dogs won best Hip-Hop / Rap song for ‘Pack Your Bags’ and later closing the night on a high with an erupting performance for industry and fans alike.

2019 Queensland Music Award Winners

Blues / Roots Award

Emily Wurramara - ‘Tap Sticks’

Country Award

Emma Beau - ‘Wild Heart’

Electronic / Dance Award

The Kite String Tangle - ‘Give It Time (feat. Aalias)’

Heavy Award

Dead Letter Circus - ‘The Armour You Own’

Hip Hop / Rap Award

Resin Dogs - ‘Pack Your Bags’

Indigenous Award

Emily Wurramara - ‘Lady Blue’

Jazz Award

The Biology of Plants - ‘Long Black’

Pop Award

Clea - ‘Dreaming’

Regional Award

Sahara Beck - ‘Here We Go Again’

Rock Award

The Jungle Giants - ‘Used To Be In Love’

Schools Award

Tokyo Twilight- ‘Little Things (Feat. DVNA)’

Singer Songwriter Award

Amy Shark - ‘I Said Hi’

Soul / Funk / R'n'B Award

Mark Peric - ‘The Sound of Light’

World / Folk Award

Asha Jefferies - ‘Everybody Talks’

Video Award

Buttah - ‘Ghost In The Machine’

Album of The Year

Tia Gostelow - ‘Thick Skin’

Song Of The Year

Clea - ‘Dreaming’

Billy Thorpe Scholarship

Pool Shop

Grant McLennan Lifetime Achievement Award

Henry 'Seaman' Dan

Export Achievement Award

Confidence Man

People’s Choice Awards

Regional Venue of the Year


Metro Venue of the Year

The Triffid

Festival of the Year

Big Pineapple Music Festival

Let's Socialise

Facebook pink circle    Instagram pink circle    YouTube pink circle    YouTube pink circle

 OG    NAT

Twitter pink circle    Twitter pink circle