2019 AIR Awards Nominees

The 2019 AIR Awards will be held at the Freemasons Hall (Adelaide) 25 July. The 2019 AIR Awards will be held at the Freemasons Hall (Adelaide) 25 July. Image supplied

Australian independent music continues to simmer with a vibrant melting pot of artists and bands across every conceivable genre creating world-class music.

Proof of this is the list of nominees for the 2019 AIR Awards, which return once more to Adelaide in late July.

Singer-songwriter Courtney Barnett, Indigenous multi-instrumentalist Gurrumul and folk musician Laura Jean lead the charge with three nominations each. While G Flip, Confidence Man and Emily Wurramara are each finalists in two categories.

Courtney Barnett, Gurrumul and Laura Jean are each nominated for the Best Independent Artist (as are Julia Jacklin and Methyl Ethel) and Best Independent Album or EP (as are Emma Louise and Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever) awards.

The Breakthrough Independent Artist Of The Year will be a battle between Confidence Man, Didirri, Emily Wurramara, G Flip and Hatchie.

With a heritage that includes past winners like Paul Kelly, John Butler, Hilltop Hoods, Vance Joy, Gotye, Sheppard, Gurrumul and Flume, the AIR Awards not only shine a light on emerging acts, but act as a barometer for future icons of the Australian music landscape.

Without halting proceedings any further, the 2019 AIR Awards nominees are:

Best Independent Artist

Courtney Barnett
Julia Jacklin
Laura Jean

Methyl Ethel

Best Independent Album Or EP

Courtney Barnett – 'Tell Me How You Really Feel'
Emma Louise – 'Lilac Everything'
Gurrumul – 'Djarimirri'
Laura Jean – 'Devotion'

Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever – 'Hope Downs'

Best Independent Single

A.B. Original – 'Blaccout'
Courtney Barnett – 'Nameless, Faceless'
G Flip – 'About You'
Laura Jean – 'Girls On The TV'

Mojo Juju – 'Native Tongue'

Breakthrough Independent Artist Of The Year

Confidence Man
Emily Wurramara
G Flip


Best Independent Hip Hop Album

B Wise – 'Area Famous'
Cool Out Sun – 'Cool Out Sun'
Milwaukee Banks – 'No Time'
Space Invadas – 'Wild World'
Tasman Keith – 'Mission Famous'

Best Independent Country Album

Beccy Cole – 'Lioness'
Halfway – 'Rain Lover'
Lachlan Bryan And The Wildes – 'Some Girls (QUITE) Like Country Music'

The Wolfe Brothers – 'Country Heart'

William Alexander – 'The Kid From Bourke'

Best Independent Blues And Roots Album

Dan Sultan – 'Killer Under A Blood Moon'
Emily Wurramara – 'Milyakburra'
Gabriella Cohen – 'Pink Is The Colour Of Unconditional Love'
John Butler Trio – 'Home'

Mia Dyson – 'If I Said Only So Far I Take It Back'

Best Independent Hard Rock, Heavy Or Punk Album

Camp Cope – 'How To Socialise & Make Friends'
DZ Deathrays – 'Bloody Lovely'
High Tension – 'Purge'
Little Ugly Girls – 'Little Ugly Girls'

West Thebarton – 'Different Beings Being Different'

Best Independent Dance/Electronica Album Or EP

Braille Face – 'Lightletting'
Confidence Man – 'Confident Music For Confident People'

Nina Las Vegas – 'Lucky Girl'
Paces – 'Zag'

Total Giovanni – 'Euphoria'

Best Independent Dance, Electronica Or Club Single

Dom Dolla – 'Take It'
Fisher – 'Losing It'
Hermitude – 'Stupid World feat. Bibi Bourelly'
Odd Mob – 'Intrinsic'

What So Not – 'Beautiful feat. Winona Oak'

Best Independent Jazz Album

Harry James Angus – 'Struggle With Glory'
James Morrison/William Morrison/Harry Morrison/Patrick Danao – 'Midnight Till Dawn'

Jonathan Zwartz – 'Animarum'

Mildlife – 'Phase'

Best Independent Classical Album

ACO Collective – 'Collective Wisdom'
Grigoryan Brothers/Adelaide Symphony Orchestra/Benjamin Northey – 'Bach Concertos'

Gurrumul – 'Djarimirri'

Nicole Car/Australian Chamber Orchestra/Richard Tognetti – 'Heroines'

The 2019 AIR Awards will be held at the Freemasons Hall (Adelaide) 25 July.



Facebook pink circle    Twitter pink circle    Instagram pink circle    YouTube pink circle


Twitter pink circle spacer40 spacer40 spacer40



Please enable the javascript to submit this form