Past scenestrs of the day

 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10 

Clare Miles - scenestr of the day

Published in SOD  
What do you do?
I work full-time as an art teacher at a Brisbane state high school; I also own and operate a tattoo studio, The Painted Lady, and tattoo when I can (mostly school holidays and weekends). I am also mum to a 16-month-old. I have recently published a book, ‘Painted Ladies: The History Of Female Tattoo Artists In Australia’, (it took three, long years), and I am a devoted, loving partner to my man Josh... as well as run a household and do the domestics/ pay the bills etc while he is renovating!

Why do you do it?
Why not? Because I can? I do not know the last time I was bored... ticking things off my ‘bucket list’ and achieving my dreams is what drives me.

What do you love about the city you live in?
Brisbane has mostly, great weather all-year round; the night life/ music scene is fantastic; the restaurants/ cafes are great; there is plenty of open spaces/ mother nature, world-class art galleries and museums; the people generally smile and strangers say hello; brilliant dog parks and children’s playgrounds; only takes half-hour to drive from one side to the other; big enough to avoid certain people and small enough to make new friends all the time.

Where did you go for your last holiday?
I flew with my son, my sister and her two children to Rockhampton to celebrate my grandmother’s 90th birthday – she lives in Emu Park and has only just moved into a retirement village!

What's your favourite item of clothing?
My Converse trainers: comfy, cool and never ‘out of fashion’. And I have a pretty awesome collection of print singlets and t-shirts with great slogans on them like ‘make art not war’ — they always get a second glance and often a comment from a passing stranger.

What was your favourite TV show when you were a kid?
I loved ‘The Henderson Kids’... my favourite show/ cartoon I currently watch with my son is ‘Dirt Girl World’.

If you could travel back in time for a day, where would you go?
To Elvis Presley’s lap!

If we were coming over to your place, what would you cook us?
Haloumi with onion and lemon for starters, followed by a good, old-fashioned English, chicken roast with all the trimmings including Yorkshire puds and dessert, and a yummy coffee/ chocolate mousse with extra-thick cream!

What's the best lesson you've ever learned?
Don’t own more than one credit card.

Tell us one thing about yourself that nobody else knows.
I grew up on the ‘gemfields’ in a small, dirt road town called Rubyvale... my parents still live there. I never wore shoes till school (Anakie primary) started and I had no choice.

Are you happy with your work/ life balance?
Yes indeed – it is getting better. I have accepted that some things will never be done to my standards and it is ok the kitchen is a bit of a mess, the beds aren’t made, the floor needs washing... I am happy to pay for a cleaner, use the dryer to save time and use a car wash! I work two, paid jobs so may as well have some luxuries! I do miss not having a lot of ‘me’ time, but I drink with my friends regularly so that makes up for it!

How do you define success?
Being happy, sleeping well, having no regrets, being able to buy my son lots of cool shit, having great friends, my parents being proud of me (hasn’t always been the case) and my partner coming home to me everyday greeting me with a kiss.

What's your spirit animal?
A thunderbird – my grandmother on my father’s side is American Indian... the Blackfoot tribe and the thunderbird is their totem animal. However, I have always had a connection with all animals in general and I am particularly drawn to the dragonfly.

Community

Facebook pink circle    Twitter pink circle    Instagram pink circle    YouTube pink circle

Queensland

Facebook pink circle    Twitter pink circle spacer40 spacer40

South Australia

Facebook pink circle  spacer40  spacer40  spacer40

New South Wales

Facebook pink circle  spacer40  spacer40  spacer40

Search

Newsletter