APRA Music Awards 2017 Winners Announced

  • Written by  Angela Peita
  • Wednesday, 05 April 2017 15:09
Published in Music News  
Flume Flume
The 2017 APRA Music Awards happened this week in Sydney (3 April) awarding musicians for their contributions over the last year.

Harley Streten (or Flume as he's most commonly known) was named Songwriter Of The Year as well as taking home awards for Dance Work Of The Year and Most Played Australian Work for his track 'Never Be Like You' featuring Kai, rounding out a massive twelve months that also saw him win eight ARIA Awards and a GRAMMY for 'Skin'.

Song Of The Year award went to Oliver Perry (D.D Dumbo) for his work 'Satan' from his incredibly well received first album 'Utopia Defeated'.

Also on the winners list was Birds Of Tokyo for their single 'I'd Go With You Anywhere' which took out Rock Work Of The Year making it their fourth APRA win over their career. 'Papercuts' feat. Vera Blue, Rapper Illy's highest charting single to date claimed the 'Urban Work Of The Year' award.

Most Played Australian Work Overseas was Vance Joy's 'Riptide' and Breakthrough Songwriter Of The Year went to Troye Sivan following his debut album 'Blue Neighbourhood'.

But the real highlight of the evening was legendary songwriter, activist and storyteller Archie Roach being awarded the Ted Albert Award For Outstanding Services To Australian Music. Archie Roach launched his career in 1990 which, among other things, documented his story of being taken away from his family as part of the Stolen Generation. Since then he has released a further 10 albums.

Paul Kelly, A.B Original and Dan Sultan closed the ceremony with a tribute to Archie, with a rendition of his song 'Took The Children Away'.

2017 APRA Music Awards Winners

Song of the Year
'Satan' – D.D Dumbo

Songwriter of the Year
Harey Streten (Flume)

Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year
Troye Sivan

Overseas Recognition Award
Sam Dixon

Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music
Archie Roach

Licensee of the Year Award
The Gov (The Governor Hindmarsh Hotel), Adelaide

Most Played Australian Work
'Never Be Like You' Flume featuring Kai

Most Played Australian Work Overseas
'Riptide' – Vance Joy

International Work of the Year
'Hello' – Adele

Country Work of the Year
'Greatest Companion' – Aleyce Simmonds

Blues & Roots Work of the Year
'The Pain' – Robbie Miller

Dance Work of the Year
'Never Be Like You' – Flume featuring Kai

Rock Work of the Year
'I’d Go With You Anywhere' – Birds of Tokyo

Pop Work of the Year
'Cheap Thrills' – Sia

Urban Work of the Year
'Papercuts' – Illy featuring Vera Blue

2018 AIR Awards Nominees Playlist


Facebook pink circle    Twitter pink circle    Instagram pink circle    YouTube pink circle


Facebook pink circle    Twitter pink circle spacer40 spacer40

South Australia

Facebook pink circle  spacer40  spacer40  spacer40

New South Wales

Facebook pink circle  spacer40  spacer40  spacer40