This Week In Pop – 11 September, 2017

Published in Music News  
Welcome to This Week In Pop.

This week, Ed Sheeran's album returns to #1 after three weeks; The Script and LCD Soundsystem debut new albums and Taylor Swift holds two places in the Singles Chart.

This week's album chartifacts:

#1: Ed Sheeran ‘÷’ – Following three weeks out of the #1 spot, Ed Sheeran’s '÷' returns to the top of the ARIA Albums Chart for a twentieth week.
#5: The Script ‘Freedom Child’ (debut) – Irish band The Script score their fifth top ten on the ARIA Albums Chart with their fifth studio release 'Freedom Child'. The band’s first album in three years comes following a hiatus undertaken after the release of 'No Sound Without Silence' (#5 September ’14).
#8: Vance Joy ‘Dream Your Life Away’ – After two weeks out of the top 50, Vance Joy’s debut album 'Dream Your Life Away' (#1 September ’14) returns to the top 50. It’s the album’s third week in the top ten and 80th week in the top 50. The Melbourne singer-songwriter’s latest single, ‘Lay It On Me’, has picked up a new peak this week at #25.
#10: LCD Soundsystem ‘American Dream’ (debut) – Reunited American dance-rock band LCD Soundsystem hit the top ten for the first time with comeback album 'American Dream'. The group’s fourth album is their second to chart in the top 50, following 'This Is Happening' (#11 May ’10). LCD Soundsystem split in 2011 and made their return to the live stage in 2016.

This week's single chartifacts:

#1: Taylor Swift ‘Look What You Made Me Do’ – Taylor Swift’s fifth chart-topping single, ‘Look What You Made Me Do’, holds #1 on the Singles Chart for a second straight week. Of Swift’s four previous #1s, ‘Shake It Off’ (#1 September ’14), ‘Blank Space’ (#1 November ’14) and ‘Bad Blood’ (#1 June ’15) have all spent three weeks at in the top spot.
#3: Taylor Swift ‘...Ready For It?’ (debut) – After hitting #1 last week with ‘Look What You Made Me Do’, Taylor Swift picks up another new Singles Chart entry with ‘...Ready For It?’. The track – Swift’s twelfth top five – also comes from the American artist’s forthcoming sixth album 'Reputation'.
#8: Demi Lovato ‘Sorry Not Sorry’ – Climbing a further three spots this week, ‘Sorry Not Sorry’ becomes Demi Lovato’s first top ten on the ARIA Singles Chart.

Top 10 Albums

1. '÷' – Ed Sheeran
2. 'Life Is Fine' – Paul Kelly
3. 'Villains' – Queens Of The Stone Age
4. 'Guardians Of The Galaxy Vol. 2: Awesome Mix Vol. 2' Soundtrack
5. 'Freedom Child' – The Script
6. 'Go Farther In Lightness' – Gang Of Youths
7. 'Moana' Soundtrack
8. 'Dream Your Life Away' – Vance Joy
9. 'Guardians Of The Galaxy: Awesome Mix Vol. 1' Soundtrack
10. 'American Dream' – LCD Soundsystem

Top 10 Singles

1. 'Look What You Made Me Do' – Taylor Swift
2. 'What About Us' – P!nk
3. '...Ready For It?' – Taylor Swift
4. 'Glorious' – Macklemore featuring Skylar Grey
5. 'Friends' – Justin Bieber & BloodPop®
6. 'New Rules' – Dua Lipa
7. 'Thunder' – Imagine Dragons
8. 'Sorry Not Sorry' – Demi Lovato
9. 'Feels' – Calvin Harris featuring Pharrell Williams, Katy Perry and Big Sean
10. 'Unforgettable' – French Montana featuring Swae Lee


Facebook pink circle    Twitter pink circle    Instagram pink circle    YouTube pink circle


Facebook pink circle    Twitter pink circle spacer40 spacer40

South Australia

Facebook pink circle  spacer40  spacer40  spacer40

New South Wales

Facebook pink circle  spacer40  spacer40  spacer40