Finalists Announced For Inaugural Australian Women In Music Awards

Amy Shark is a finalist for the inaugural Australian Women In Music Award for Breakthrough Artist. Amy Shark is a finalist for the inaugural Australian Women In Music Award for Breakthrough Artist.

Finalists have been announced for the inaugural Australian Women In Music Awards (AWMA), which will be presented in a star-studded ceremony in Brisbane this October.

Amy Shark, Katie Noonan, Deborah Cheetham, Gordi, Jen Cloher, Stella Donnelly, Ngaiire, Camp Cope, Sarah Blasko, Tiddas, and the Mission Songs Project are just some of the artists who have been shortlisted for one of just 14 awards.

The AWMA is an Australian music industry first, recognising the outstanding contributions of women across a range of categories including: excellence in artistry, song-writing, technical and production skills, cross-cultural development, music education, music photography, music leadership and humanitarian work.

“This will be a very special celebration of women in Australian music, those who have come before and those who continue to light the way," AWMA Founding Director and Executive Producer, Vicki Gordon says.

"We are overwhelmed with support which we continue to receive from artists, the music community and the broader creative sector all of whom agree that the time for change has come."

Out of a national public nomination process that attracted hundreds of entries, the finalists have been expertly assessed and selected by a specially convened Jury Council of industry professionals and practitioners at the top of their fields.

The AWMA presentation ceremony will feature performances from Kate Ceberano, Katie Noonan, Adalita, Lou Bennett (Tiddas), Sophie Koh, Kween G, Gordi, Ancestress and Emily Wurramara as well as the reformation of legendary Australian band Do Re Mi, and the undulation of singer-songwriter Helen Reddy onto the AWMA Honour Roll.

There will also be a two-day workshop hosted by the AWMAs at Brisbane Powerhouse (9-10 Oct) with a series of free forums and panel discussions, a photographic exhibition, the QLD premiere of the documentary Her Sound - Her Story and a keynote address by Kate Ceberano.

The 2018 Australian Women In Music Awards are on at Brisbane Powerhouse 10 October.

2018 Australian Women In Music Awards Finalists

Songwriter Award

Sarah Blasko
Gordi (Sophie Payten)

Music Leadership Award

Linda Bosidis
Jen Cloher
Susan Heymann

Diversity In Music Award

Mission Songs Project
Rachel Maria Cox
3 Signal Creative

Studio Production Award

Anna Laverty
Kath Naunton
Becki Whitton

Music Photographer Award

Lisa Businovski
Tashi Hall
Wendy McDougall

Creative Leadership Award

Zoe Hauptmann
Katie Noonan
Roz Pappalardo

Breakthrough Artist Award

Camp Cope
Stella Donnelly
Amy Shark

Artistic Excellence Award

Dallas Frasca
Gordi (Sophie Payten)

Film-maker Award

Gemma Lee
Ruth Morris
Claudia Sangiorgi Dalimore

Live Production Award

Lynette Britten
Kait Hall
Robyn Jellef

Musical Excellence

Fem Belling
Lydia Davies
Nerida Tyson-Chew

Educator Award

Dr Anita Collins
Louise Denson
Elizabeth Sellars

Auriel Andrew Memorial Award

Deborah Cheetham AOM
Jessie Lloyd
Shellie Morris
Gina Williams

Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner To Be Announced


Facebook pink circle    Twitter pink circle    Instagram pink circle    YouTube pink circle


Facebook pink circle    Twitter pink circle spacer40 spacer40

South Australia

Facebook pink circle  spacer40  spacer40  spacer40

New South Wales

Facebook pink circle  spacer40  spacer40  spacer40