5 Reasons You Should Live In Barcelona According To Steve Smyth

Musician Steve Smyth returns to Oz for an extensive national tour Jan-Feb 2019. Musician Steve Smyth returns to Oz for an extensive national tour Jan-Feb 2019.

Steve Smyth is returning to Australian shores for a series of special concerts this summer.


Steve is one of Australia's most distinctive and beguiling voices (last here for Bluesfest 2018) and Dashville will present his Summer 2019 tour while he visits from his adopted home of Spain.


Ahead of the tour, Steve shares five reasons he loves living in Barcelona.

1. To be a night owl is socially accepted

Obviously not on a Monday night, but as my first year in this mystic city as I was writing into the dawn I would take to the silent architecture in walks and the murmurs were still reverberating from the many street fiestas and general community that is formed on them.

2. Stereotypes don’t fit

Not one of my friends have siestas. Bullfights are no longer allowed. As is an eclectic mix of social conversations about whatever you dig and the many anarchists/ tourists/ weekend warriors etc. who find themselves all gathered in a square at the end of an evening out.

3. Demonstration demonstrates

The people’s movement is alive and well. It doesn’t really matter how you feel about that march that will mostly shut down the city.

The fact everyone mostly takes it into consideration that even if they feel indifferent to the cause happening, there may come a time they are walking in solidarity with many others and that their voice deserves to be and will be heard.

4. The Sagrada Familia

Being a carpenter for many years, I love living in a city where this building is taking decades to be built. In so many cities, buildings go up and are torn down in a few years; isn’t it nice to think there is enough care and consideration for a structure that will stand and be known as one of this century's greatest buildings?


5. Don’t be afraid of thieves

If you know you are being robbed then you are dealing with amateurs. If you have passed a true professional, let it be a right of passage. Never let anyone steal your identity and never let possessions control your happiness.

Steve Smyth Tour Dates

Thu 10 Jan - Rad Bar (Wollongong)
Fri 11 Jan - The Brass Monkey (Sydney)
Thu 17 Jan - The Northern (Byron Bay)
Sun 20 Jan - Mo's Desert Clubhouse (Gold Coast)
Wed 23 Jan - No. 5 Church Street (Bellingen)
Fri 25 Jan - Tomerong Hall (NSW)
Thu 31 Jan - Kings Cross Hotel (Sydney)
Fri 1 Feb - Dashville (Hunter Valley)
Sat 2 Feb - Pacific Palms Rec Club (NSW)
Sun 3 Feb - The Stag & Hunter (Newcastle)
Wed 6 Feb - Transit Bar (Canberra)
Thu 7 Feb - The Gasometer Hotel (Melbourne)
Fri 8 Feb - The Eastern Station Hotel (Ballarat)
Sat 9 Feb - Barwon Club (Geelong)
Sun 10 Feb - Northcote Social Club (Melbourne)
Thu 14 Feb - Mojos Bar (Fremantle)
Fri 15 Feb - Lucy's Love Shack (Perth)
Sat 16 Feb - Settlers Tavern (Margaret River)
Sun 17 Feb - Nannup Music Festival (WA)
Thu 21 Feb - Lefty's Old Time Music Hall (Brisbane)
Sat 23 Feb - Darwin Railway Sports & Social Club
Sun 24 Feb - Lansdowne Hotel (Sydney)

Community

Facebook pink circle    Twitter pink circle    Instagram pink circle    YouTube pink circle

Queensland

Facebook pink circle    Twitter pink circle spacer40 spacer40

South Australia

Facebook pink circle  spacer40  spacer40  spacer40

New South Wales

Facebook pink circle  spacer40  spacer40  spacer40

Search

Newsletter

captcha