2018 SAM Awards Winners

Heaps Good Friends won the People's Choice Award for Best Pop Artist. Heaps Good Friends won the People's Choice Award for Best Pop Artist.

Adelaide rockers West Thebarton have stolen the show at tonight's South Australian Music (SAM) Awards (8 November), staged at a glittering ceremony at Adelaide Town Hall, walking away with four awards including Best Group and Best Song (for ‘Bible Camp’).

They also scooped up the gongs for Best Release - for their debut album 'Different Beings Being Different' - as well as the People’s Choice Award for the Best Rock Artist. Kudos to Reverend Ray and his gang of classy musos.

With veteran music journalist Zan Rowe hosting proceedings, other major category winners included MANE (Best Solo Artist), A.B. Original (Best Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander Artist) and Adrian Eagle (Best New Artist).

In the Industry Award categories, Clarity Records’ A Day of Clarity won Best Event / Festival among tough competition from WOMADelaide and last year’s winner Porch Sessions, while the Crown and Anchor claimed Best Music Venue.

With a resume including collaborations with fellow award winners Tkay Maidza, MANE and Heaps Good Friends, Mario Spate was recognised as the Best Engineer. 5/4 Entertainment’s Craig Lock took home the award for Best Manager (for the fourth time) and Adelaide CBD establishment Ghostnote Recording Studio topped the category for Best Studio.

Jack Fenby was recognised with the Award for Best Cover Art for his work with Neon Tetra, while Best Music Video was awarded to ‘Better’ by Mallrat, directed by Rory Pippan/ YBY.

In other honours announced during the ceremony, the Zephyr Quartet was recognised with the UNESCO International Collaboration Award and Tam Boakes won the Music SA Lifetime Achievement Award for her enormous contribution to the Adelaide music scene through her work at iconic live music venue Jive.

The Ryan Freemen Live Music Achievement Award went to Max Savage, along with $4,000 towards his continued contribution to live performance.

Lisa Bishop, General Manager of Music SA, says the Awards were the perfect celebration of contemporary music in this state. “The South Australian Music Awards showcase the very best of our music scene and demonstrate why it’s in such fantastic shape.

"West Thebarton has had an incredible year: a truly local band that’s broken through around the country and internationally. Meanwhile, we have solo artists like MANE and Adrian Eagle who are really doing great things and we can also celebrate the ongoing success of last year’s winners A.B. Original.”

The People’s Choice Awards were also announced during the ceremony, following 157 entrants and 7,343 online votes cast across 12 genre categories.

Winners included Tkay Maidza, Motez, The Heggarties, Abbey Howlett, Heaps Good Friends, Adam Page, Young Offenders, Laura Hill, The Coconut Kids and a draw for the Most Popular Heavy Artist between Dirty Pagans and Hidden Intent.

2018 SAM Awards Winners

Best Song

West Thebarton - 'Bible Camp'

Best New Artist

Adrian Eagle

Best Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander Artist

A.B. Original

Best Group

West Thebarton

Best Solo Artist


Best Release

West Thebarton - 'Different Beings Being Different'

Best Studio

Ghostnote Recording Studio

Best Engineer

Mario Spate

Best Music Festival / Event

A Day of Clarity (Clarity Records)

Best Music Venue

Crown & Anchor Hotel

Best Manager

Craig Lock

Best Cover Art

Neon Tetra (Jack Fenby)

Best Music Video

Mallrat - 'Better' (Rory Pippan - Young Black Youth)

UNESCO International Collaboration Award

Zephyr Quartet

Music SA Lifetime Achievement Award

Tam Boakes

Ryan Freemen Live Music Achievement Award

Max Savage



Ollie English


The Heggarties




Abbey Howlett


Laura Hill


Dirty Pagans & Hidden Intent


Tkay Maidza


Adam Page


Heaps Good Friends


Young Offenders


West Thebarton


The Coconut Kids


Facebook pink circle    Twitter pink circle    Instagram pink circle    YouTube pink circle


Facebook pink circle    Twitter pink circle spacer40 spacer40

South Australia

Facebook pink circle  spacer40  spacer40  spacer40

New South Wales

Facebook pink circle  spacer40  spacer40  spacer40